List of All annual Session of the Indian national Congress – Free pdf

Last updated on December 7, 2023


Year Place President
1885 Bombay W. C. Banerjee At Gokuldas Tejpal Sanskrit College Bombay 72 delegates
1886 Calcutta Dadabhai Nauroji 436 delegates
1887 Madras Badruddin Tayyabji Tayyabji became first Muslim President
1888 Allahabad George Yule George Yule became first English President
1889 Bombay William Wedderburn Congress represented all areas of British India
1890 Calcutta F. S. Mehta Decision taken to organise a session of Congress in London
1891 Nagpur P. Anand Charlu
1892 Allahabad W. C. Banerjee
1893 Lahore Dadabhai Nauroji
1894 Madras Mr. Alfred Webb
1895 Poona S. N. Banerjee Demand for a representative body only for educated class
1896 Calcutta M. A. Sayani
1897 Amravati M.C. Sankaran
1898 Madras A. M. Bose Social reform was set as the main goal
1899 Lucknow Ramesh C. Dutt.
1900 Lahore H. G. Chandavarkar
1901 Calcutta Dinshaw E. Wacha
1902 Ahmadabad S. N. Banerjee
1903 Madras Lal Mohan Ghosh
1904 Bombay Henry Cotton
1905 Varanasi Gopal Krishna Gokhale Expressed resentment against the partition of Bengal.
1906 Calcutta Dadabhai Nauroji Word Swaraj was first used from congress platform.
1907 Surat Ras Bihari Ghosh Congress split
1908 Madras Ras Bihari Ghosh Constitution for the Congress
1916 Lucknow Ambika Charan Majumdar Congress merger, Pact with Muslim League, Gandhi attended
1917 Calcutta Annie Besant Annie Besant became first women President
1920 Calcutta Lala Lajpat Rai (suspended) Gandhian programme was adopted. Change in Congress Constituion
Nagpur C. Vijayraghava Chariar (Annual) Hasrat Mohani demanded for complete independence.
1921 Ahmedabad C. R. Das (in prision) Hakim Ajaml Khan (acting) Formation of Swaraj Party
1924 Belgaum Mahatma Gandhi Only session presided over by Gandhiji
1925 Kanpur Sarojini Naidu Sarojini Naidu became first Indian women President
1927 Madras M. A. Ansari Nehru and S C Bose moved resolution for independence and it was passed for the 1st time
1928 Calcutta Motilal Nehru First All India Youth Congress
1929 Lahore Jawaharlal Nehru Poorna Swaraj Resolution and pledge for Independence day on 26 January 1930
1931 Karachi Vallabbhai Patel Resolution for Fundamental Rights and National Economic Policy Passed
1934 Bombay Rajendra Prasad Formation of Congress Socialist Party
1936 Lucknow Jawaharlal Nehru Support for socialism through democracy
1937 Faizpur Jawaharlal Nehru Demand for Constituent Assembly
1938 Haripura Subhash Chandra Bose Poorna Swaraj was to cover also princely states
1939 Tripuri Subhash Chandra Bose (later Rajendra Prasad) S C Bose resigned due to differenece with Gandhi
1948 Jaipur Pattabhi Sitarammayya

We help you throughout your preparation journey by daily live classes catering to all government exams like - OPSC, OSSC, OSSSC, OTET, CT, BED, Railway, SSC, Banking, and many more. Our Main Objective is Provide Quality Education For Student.

Previous Story

Political and Nationalist Organisations of Modern India

Next Story

Secret Revolutionary Societies Indian history pdf

Go toTop