Award-Winning Authors of Indian Origin

Last updated on December 7, 2023

Award-Winning Authors of Indian Origin

Salman Rushdie Midnight Children Shame The Moor’s Last Sigh Fury The Satanic Verses Two years, at Month and Twenty-at Night Booker Prize 1981 (Midnight Children)
Vikram Seth The Golden Gate Padma Shri in Literature and Education
A Suitable Boy An Equal Music Summer Requiem Two Lives 2007
Arundhati Roy The God of Small things Booker Prize 1997
The Algebra at Infinite Justice (The God of Small Things)
Rohinton Mistry Such a Long Journey Booker Prize 1991
Family Matters A Fine Balance (Such a Long Journey)
VS Naipaul A House for Mr Biswaas Nobel Prize in Literature 2001
India : a Wounded Civilization (for having united perceptive narrative
An Area of Darkness India : a Million Mutinies now The Masque of Africa A Bend in The River and incorruptible scrutiny in works that compel)
Amitav Ghosh The Circle of Reason Padma Shri by Government of India
River of Smoke 2007
The Glass Palace (for his best work in English Language)
Shadow Line The Calcutta Chromosome Flood of Fire The Hungry Tide Sea of Poppies In an Antique Land Crossword Book Prize in 2008 for Sea of Poppier
Jhumpa Lahiri The Namesake Pulitzer Prize 2000
The Interpreter of Maladies The Unaccustomed Earth (The Namesake)
Shashi Tharoor The Great Indian Novel Common Wealth Writer’s Prize
Show Business India : From Midnight to Millenium India Shastra: Reflections on the Nation in our time (The Great Indian Novel)
Upamanyu Chatterjee The Mammaries of the Welfare State English August Way to 90 Sahitya Akademi Award 2004 (The Mammaries of the Welfare State)
Kiran Desai The Inheritance of Loss Man Booker Prize 2006

We help you throughout your preparation journey by daily live classes catering to all government exams like - OPSC, OSSC, OSSSC, OTET, CT, BED, Railway, SSC, Banking, and many more. Our Main Objective is Provide Quality Education For Student.

Previous Story

List of Important Books and their Authors

Next Story

List of Books Awarded with Prizes

Go toTop