Details About Indian Reserve Police Forces

Last updated on December 7, 2023

Details About Indian Reserve Police Forces

Assam Rifles (AR) It was established in 1835 called Cachar Levy. It is the oldest paramilitary force in the country.
Its main objective is to keep vigilance of international borders in North-East and counter insurgency operations in Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram and Nagaland.
Intelligence Bureau (IB) It was set up in 1920. Its objective is to collect secret information relating to the country’s security.
It was originally set up as Central Special Branch (CSB) in 1887 and renamed IB in 1920.
Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) It was set up in 1939. Its main objective is to assist the State/Union Territory Police in the maintenance of law and order.
National Cadet Corps (NCC) It was established in 1948. Its main objective is to stimulate interest among the youth in the defence of the country in order to build up reserve manpower to expand the armed forces.
Territorial Army (TA) It was established in 1948. It is a voluntary, part-time force (between 18 and 42 years), not of professional soldiers, but civilians, who wish to assist in the defence of the country.
Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) It was established in 1962, after the Chinese attack. It is basically employed in the Northern borders for monitoring the borders and also to stop smuggling and illegal immigration.
Home Guard It was established in 1962, to assist the police in maintaining security, to help defence forces and to help local authorities in case of any eventuality.
Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) It was established in 1941 and renamed CBI in 1963. Its objective is to investigate cases of misconduct by public servants, cases of cheating, embezzlement and fraud.
CBI is also entrusted with the investigation of international criminal cases in collaboration with Interpol.
Border Security Force (BSF) It was established in 1965. It keeps a vigil over the international borders against the intrusion in the country.
Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) It was set up in 1969 after the recommendations of Justice B Mukherji. Its objective is to monitor the industrial complexes of the Central Government.
Indian Coast Guard It was set up in 1978. Its objective is to protect the maritime and other national interests in the maritime zones of India.
National Security Guards (NSG) It was established in 1984 to counter the surge of militancy in the country. It is a highly trained force that deals with the militants effectively.
National Crime Records Bureau (NCRB) It was established in 1986. Its objective is to collect crime statistics at the national level, and information of inter-state and international criminals to help investigation agencies.
Rapid Action Force (RAF) It was established in 1991. Under the operational command of CRPF, 10 battalions of the CRPF have been reoriented for tackling communal riots in the country.

We help you throughout your preparation journey by daily live classes catering to all government exams like - OPSC, OSSC, OSSSC, OTET, CT, BED, Railway, SSC, Banking, and many more. Our Main Objective is Provide Quality Education For Student.

Previous Story

Indian Defence system details here pdf

Next Story

Details About Defence Research in India

Go toTop