Important Games in World PDF Download

Last updated on December 7, 2023

Important Games in World PDF Download

Commonwealth Games

▸ The Commonwealth Games are a festival of sports of the Commonwealth countries. The first Commonwealth Games were held in 1930 in Hamilton, Canada. The 2010 Commonwealth Games were held in New Delhi, India.
▸ Since 1930, the games have been conducted every 4-years except for 1942 and 1946.
▸ The Commonwealth Games Federation (GCF) is the organization, which is responsible for the direction and control of the Commonwealth Games.
▸ There are currently 53 members of the Commonwealth of Nations and 71 teams participating in the games.
▸ 20th Commonwealth Games of 2014 were held in Glasgow (Scotland, UK).
▸ The 2018 Commonwealth Games were held on the Gold coast, Queensland, Australia. Australia won the most gold medals, whereas India ranked 3rd with 26 golds.

Asian Games
▸ The Asian Games also called the Asiad, are multisport events held every 4-years among athletes from all over Asia.
▸ The games are regulated by the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA), under the supervision of the International Olympic Committee (IOC).
▸ The first Asian Games were held in 1951 in New Delhi (India). The 2014 Asian Games were held in Incheon, South Korea.
▸ The AGF (Asian Games Federation) adopted ‘Ever Onward’, given by Pt Jawaharlal Nehru, as the motto of the Asian Games, which continues till today.
▸ The emblem is a bright full rising Sun with interlocking rings. The King of Patiala presented the Torch and the Flag for the first Asian Games and since then they have been carried from country to country.
▸ The Asian Games or Asiad 2018 were held in Jakarta-Palembang, Indonesia. India finished at 8th position with 15 Golds.

South Asian Federation (SAF) Games
▸ As the Commonwealth Games, the South Asian Federation (SAF) Games is a sports festival of South Asian countries. The governing body of these games is the South Asian sports Council formed in 1983.
▸ The first South Asian Federation Games were held in Kathmandu (Nepal) in 1984. SAF Games, 2016 were held in India.
▸ The eight participating countries are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, Afghanistan, and the Maldives. The games form a part of the SAARC program. The motto of the SAF Games is ‘peace, prosperity, and progress.
▸ No SAF Games were staged in 1986 as it was the year of the commonwealth and Asian Games. The SAF Games have been rechristened South Asian Games on 2nd April 2004. Afghanistan joined the games in 2006.

Afro-Asian Games
▸ The first-ever Afro-Asian Games were held in 2003 at Hyderabad (India). 2007 in Algiers (Cancelled).
▸ The official mascot of the 2003 games was ‘Shero’ (a cartoon representation of the Royal Bengal Tiger) and the message was ‘two continents-one spirit’.

▸ The first Cricket World Cup was organized in England in 1975. A separate women’s Cricket World Cup has been held every 4-years since 1973.
▸ The Cricket World Cup Tournament is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The ICC was founded in 1909 and its headquarters is located in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.
▸ In 1877, the first Cricket Test Match was played in Melbourne between England and Australia.
▸ The first One Day International Cricket Match was played in the year 1971 between England and Australia in Melbourne.
▸ The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) was formed in 1927.

We help you throughout your preparation journey by daily live classes catering to all government exams like - OPSC, OSSC, OSSSC, OTET, CT, BED, Railway, SSC, Banking, and many more. Our Main Objective is Provide Quality Education For Student.

Previous Story

India Performance in Olympics

Next Story

List of Cricket World Cup

Go toTop