List of Cricket World Cup

Last updated on December 7, 2023

List of Cricket World Cup

Year Place Won
1975 Lord’s, England West Indies beat Australia
1979 Lord’s, England West Indies beat England
1983 Lord’s, England India beat West Indies
1987 Kolkata, India Australia beat England
1992 Melbourne, (Australia) Pakistan beat England
1996 Lahore, Pakistan Sri Lanka beat Australia
1999 Lord’s, England Australia beat Pakistan
2003 Johannesburg, South Africa Australia beat India
2007 Bridgetown, West Indies Australia beat Sri Lanka
2011 Mumbai, India India beat Sri Lanka
2015 Australia/New Zealand Australia beat New Zealand
2019 England and Wales Scheduled

Women’s Cricket World Cup

The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup is the premier international championship of women’s One Day International Cricket. The event is organized by the sport’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC). It was originally administered by the International Women’s Cricket Council until the two associations merged in 2005. The first tournament was held in England in 1973, 2-years before the first men’s tournament.

Year Place Won
1982 New Zealand Australia
1988 Australia Australia
1993 England England
1997 India Australia
2000 New Zealand New Zealand
2005 South Africa Australia
2009 Australia England
2013 India Australia
2017 England London
2021 New Zealand Scheduled

Twenty-20 World Cup

▸ It is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It is held every 2-years.
ICC Twenty-20 Cricket World Cup
Year Host Nations Final Venue Winner Runner-up

Year Host Nations Final Venue Winner Runner-up
2007 South Africa Johannesburg India Pakistan
2009 England Lord’s, London Pakistan Sri Lanka
2010 West Indies Barbados England Australia
2012 Sri Lanka R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo West Indies Sri Lanka
2014 Bangladesh Shere Bangla Cricket Stadium, Dhaka Sri Lanka India
2016 India Eden Garden Kolkata, India WestIndies England
2020 Australia

Women’s Twenty-20 Cricket
▸ Women’s Twenty-20 cricket is the newly emerging use of the Twenty-20 match format in women’s cricket. While both women’s cricket and Twenty-20 have themselves enjoyed recent success, women’s Twenty-20 has only been an international cricket game format since 2004. In June 2009, the ICC held the first Women’s World Twenty-20 in England, and the hosts became the first World Twenty-20 champion.
▸ Australia won their third consecutive title in the Women’s World Twenty-20 after defeating England.
▸ In 2016, West Indies won the T-20 Women’s World Cup after defeating Australia.
▸ The 2018 ICC women’s world Twenty 20, was hosted in the West Indies from 9 to 24 November 2018. The women’s team of Australia captured the world T20 2018 title.
Football World Cup
▸ The Football World Cup is organized by FIFA (Federation of International Football Association).
▸ The headquarters of FIFA is located in Zurich, Switzerland.
▸ The World Cup is called the ‘Jules Rimet Cup’ named after the name of FIFA President Jules Rimet.
▸ The first FootballWorld Cup was organized in Uruguay in 1930.
▸ In 1942 and 1946, the Football World Cup was not played because of world war II.
▸ Brazil is the only nation to have participated in every World Cup so far.
▸ 20th FIFA World Cup 2014 was held in Brazil. Germany defeated Argentina in the final. FIFA appointed Russia as host for the 2018 World Cup and Qatar for 2022 World Cup.

Hockey World Cup
▸ The Hockey World Cup is organized by the International Hockey Federation (FIH) once in 4-years. The headquarters of FIH is located in Lausanne, Switzerland. The first Hockey World Cup was organized in Barcelona (Spain) in 1971 and the winner is Pakistan. The women’s Hockey World Cup has been held since 1974.
▸ The 2010 Hockey World Cup was held in New Delhi and the winner was Australia.
▸ The 13th Hockey World Cup (men’s and women’s edition both) were held in Hague (Netherlands) in 2014. Australia won the men’s tournament after defeating Netherland. Netherland won the women’s tournament after defeating Australia.
▸ The 14th Hockey World Cup was held at Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneshwar India in 2018.

Lawn Tennis
▸ It was invented in 1870 by Major Wing Field in Wales. The Wimbledon championship started in 1877 for men only. For women, it was introduced in 1884.
▸ The four Grand Slam tournaments are considered to be the most prestigious tennis tournaments in the world. They are held annually and include, in chronological order, the Australian Open, the French Open, Wimbledon, and the US Open. Apart from the Olympic Games, Davis Cup, Fed Cup, and Hopman Cup, they are the only tournaments regulated by the International Tennis Federation (ITF).
▸ The Association of Tennis Professionals ATP was formed to protect the interests of male professional tennis players is now known as the ATP World Tour.
Grand Slam Tournaments
Tournament Date Location Surface First Held

Tournament Date Location Surface First Held
Australian Open January Melbourne Hard (Plexicushion) 1905
French Open May-June Paris Clay 1925
Wimbledon June-July London Grass 1877
US Open August-September New York City Hard (Decco Turf) 1881


We help you throughout your preparation journey by daily live classes catering to all government exams like - OPSC, OSSC, OSSSC, OTET, CT, BED, Railway, SSC, Banking, and many more. Our Main Objective is Provide Quality Education For Student.

Previous Story

Important Games in World PDF Download

Next Story

List Of Famous International Games And their Details

Go toTop