List of the Indian States and Capital
List of the Indian States and Capital

List of the Indian States and Capital 2024

Last updated on December 29, 2023

List of the Indian States and Capital

List of the Indian States and Capital 2024:

The seventh-largest country in the world is India, which is a country full of diversity. At the same time, India is the second-largest country in terms of population. The largest country in terms of population is China. The thing about the world’s largest democratic country is that even after so many diversities, it is bound together.  It is also the 7th largest country in the world.  It is the second-most populous country in the world (after China). There are a total of 28 states and 8 union territories in India.

With this, its maximum length from north to south is 3,214 km.  At the same time, the maximum width from east to west is 2,933 km.  have.  At present, after the partition of Jammu and Kashmir, there are 28 states and 8 Union Territories in India which is now a Union Territory along with Ladakh.

Today through this article we will discuss the states of India and their capitals. Along with this, we will also discuss some other aspects of India. We are providing you with a list of all the states of India by region and population. The first census in India was conducted during the British rule in 1872  and the population is calculated once every 10  years in 1947.

Some interesting facts –

  • India’s top 5 states  share 24% of the land, while the top 10  states account for 68.85% of the total land
  • Among the Union Territories, The Andaman and Nicobar Islands (8,249) are ranked first in terms of area.
  • Lakshadweep is the smallest Union Territory with an area of 32 square kilometers.

The Indian States and Capital 2024 (State and Capital of India)

serial numberName of the StatecapitalFoundation Day
1Andhra PradeshHyderabad (proposed capital Amaravati)November 1, 1956
2Arunachal PradeshItanagarFebruary 20,  1987
3unequalDispurJanuary 26,  1950
4Biharto be filledJanuary 26,  1950
5ChhattisgarhRaipurNovember 1st, 2000
6betel-nutregisterMay 30, 1987
7GujaratGandhinagarMay 1, 1960
8HaryanaChandigarhNovember 1, 1966
9HpSimlaJanuary 25,  1971
10JharkhandRanchiNovember 15th, 2000
11KarnatakaBengaluru (formerly Bangalore)November 1, 1956
12KeralaTrivandrumNovember 1, 1956
13Madhya PradeshBhopalNovember 1, 1956
14MaharashtraMumbaiMay 1, 1960
15ManipurImphalJanuary 21, 1972
16the abode of cloudsShillongJanuary 21, 1972
17MizoramAizawlFebruary 20,  1987
18NagalandKohimaDecember 1, 1963
19OdishaBhubaneswarJanuary 26,  1950
20PunjabChandigarhNovember 1, 1956
21RajasthanJaipurNovember 1, 1956
22SikkimGangtokMay 16, 1975
23Tamil NaduChennaiJanuary 26,  1950
24TelanganaHyderabadJune 2nd, 2014
25TripuraAgartalaJanuary 21, 1972
26Uttar PradeshLucknowJanuary 26,  1950
27UttarakhandDehradun (Winter) Gairsain (Summer)November 9th, 2000
28West BengalKolkataNovember 1, 1956

Union Territories in India 2024

List of Union Territories and their Capitals: Union Territories, Capital, and Foundation Day

union territorycapitalFoundation Day
Andaman and Nokobar IslandsPort BlairNovember 1, 1956
ChandigarhChandigarhNovember 1, 1966
Dadra and Nagar Haveli,suppressionJanuary  26, 2020
DelhiNew DelhiMay 9 , 1905
LakshadweepcovertNovember 1, 1956
PuducherryPondicherryNovember 1, 1954
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer) Jammu (Winter)October 31 , 2019
LadakhLehOctober 31, 2019

We help you throughout your preparation journey by daily live classes catering to all government exams like - OPSC, OSSC, OSSSC, OTET, CT, BED, Railway, SSC, Banking, and many more. Our Main Objective is Provide Quality Education For Student.

Previous Story

List of Rivers in India for odisha Exam Complete Notes Free pdf

Next Story

First in World Static Gk PDF For odisha Exam

Go toTop