Religious Movements of Medieval India Free notes for opsc

Last updated on December 7, 2023


➮ The Bhakti Movement began in South India in the 7th Century.
➮ The Alvars (Vaishnavites) and Naynars (Shaivites) popularised the Bhakti cult in South India.
➮ There were 12 Alvar Vaishnavite and 63 Naynar Saivite Saints.
➮ The writings of these saints were collected in the Tirumurai.
➮ The Tirumurai has been called as the Tamil Veda.
➮ Periya Puranam was composed by Shekkilar in the reign of the Chola king Kulottunga I.
➮ Ramananda was the first great Bhakti saint of North India.
➮ Raidas, Kabir, Dhanna, Pipa were his disciples.
➮ Kabir (1440-1518) belonged to a family of weavers. Kabir spent greater part of his life in Banaras. Kabir’s verses were included in Adi Granth.
➮ Raidas was a tanner.
➮ Dhanna was a Jat peasant from Rajasthan.
➮ Guru Nanak (1469-1539) was born at Nankana Sahib.
➮ Kabir and Nanak were Nirguna Bhakti saints.
➮ Vallabhacharya was a Telugu Brahmana. He was the founder of Pushti marga (way of grace)
➮ Chaitanya (1486-1533) was the most prominent Vaishnav saint of Bengal. He popularized Krishna Bhakti. He was looked upon as living Krishna.
➮ Jnaneswar (1275-1296) was the pioneer Bhakti Saint of Maharashtra. Jnaneswar wrote Jnaneswari. Jnaneswari is a commentary on Bhagavad Gita. Jnaneswar was the author of many hymns called Abhangas.
➮ Namdeva (1270-1350) was a tailor by caste. Namdeva travelled to North India and Punjab. Namdev’s Bhakti Songs have been included in the Adi Granth. Namdeva is considered to be a part of the Varkari tradition.
➮ In Assam, Sankaradeva (1449- 1568) introduced bhakti.
➮ Sankaradeva’s sect is called Mahapurushiya dharma.
➮ Dadu (1544-1603) was inspired by Kabir’s doctrine.
➮ Tukaram’s teachings are in the form of Abhangas or dohas. Tukaram founded the Varkari Sect.
➮ Ramdasa wrote Dasabodha. Ramdasa was the Guru of Shivaji.
➮ The Lingayat Sect was founded by Basava.
➮ The biography of Chaitanya is ‘Chaitanya charitamrita’.
➮ The biography of Chaitanya was written by Krishnadas Kaviraj.
➮ The disciples of Kabir later formed the Kabirpanthi sect.
➮ Jagjivan Das founded the Satnami sect.
➮ Tulsidas wrote Ramcharitmanas, Vinaypatrika, Kavitavali.
➮ Surdas wrote Sur Surawali, Sahitya Ratna, Sursagar.
➮ Mirabai was a Rajput Princes of Merta. Mirabai married to Bhojraja, son of Rana Sanga. Mirabai was famous for her devotion to Krishna. Mirabai advocated image-worship and observance of special fasts. Mirabai wrote Several poems like Padavali;
➮ Ramanuja advocated the philsophy of Vishistadvaitavada.
➮ Madhvacharya founded the Dvaita philosophy.
➮ Nimbarka propounded the Dvaitadvaita philosophy.
➮ Nimbarka founded the Sanak Sampradaya.

We help you throughout your preparation journey by daily live classes catering to all government exams like - OPSC, OSSC, OSSSC, OTET, CT, BED, Railway, SSC, Banking, and many more. Our Main Objective is Provide Quality Education For Student.

Previous Story

Decline of Mughal Empire -Indian History

Next Story

Sects during Bhakti Movement – Indian History

Go toTop