What is Swadeshi Movement details with free pdf

Last updated on December 7, 2023

Swadeshi Movement

➮ In 1904 the viceroy and the Governer General Lord Curzon announced the scheme of the partition of Bengal into two separate provinces on the ground of administrative consideration namely lightening the burden of Bengal, but the real motive was to curb the growth of national feeling in Politically advanced Bengal by driving a wedge between the Bengali speaking Hindus and Muslims and destroying the solidarity of the people of Bengal by dividing them into two blocks.
➮ The partition was declared in Shimla in 7 July, 1905.
➮ The partion took place on 20 July, 1905.
➮ The people of Bengal organised protest meeting and observed the day of mourning. The whole political life of Bengal under went a change.
➮ The anti partition movement culminated into the Swadeshi movement and spread to other parts of India.
➮ The aggressive nationalists forced Dada Bhai Naoroji to speak of ‘Swaraj’ in the session of Calcutta in 1906.

Swadeshi Movement
➮ This movement involved programmes like the boycott of government’s service, court, goods, promotion of swadeshi goods, promotion of national education through the establishing of national schools and colleges.
➮ Indian National Congress took the swadeshi call first at Banaras session of 1905 presided over by G.K. Ghokhle.
➮ Lal, Bal, Pal and Arbindo Ghosh played the important role.
➮ October 16, 1905 the day of partition formally came into force was observed as the day of mourning throughout Bengal.

A revolutionary leader with swadeshi movement
1. B.G. Tilak – Mumbai & Pune
2. Ajit Singh – Punjab
3. Lala Lajpat Ray – Uttar Pradesh
4. Sayyid Haider – Delhi Raza
5. Chidambaram – Madras Pillai
➮ Ashwani Kumar Datta setup a ‘Swadesh Bandhava Committee’ to flash the message of this movement.
➮ R.N. Tagore set ‘Bengal National College’ for National education.
Aurbindo Ghosh was the Principal of this college.
Tagore wrote a song named ‘Amar Sonar Bangla’ later this song became the national song of Bangladesh.

Act passed by Government to suppress the Movement
1. Sedition meeting Act, 1907.
2. Criminal Law Amendment Act, 1908.
3. Indian Newspaper Act, 1908.
4. Explosive substances Act, 1908.
5. Indian press Act, 1910.

Leaders & their journals Journal Leader
Journal Leader
Yugantar – Barindra Ghosh
Sanjivini – K. K. Mitra
Bharat Mata – Ajit Singh
Sandhya – B. Upadhyaya
New India – Anne Besent
Calcutta Session of Congress
➮ Calcutta session of congress was held in 1906 this session was presided over by Dadabhai Naoroji.
➮ In this session Naoroji first time used the terms – ‘Swaraj’.
➮ Bhupendra Nath Basu was the president of welcome committee of this session.

The Surat split (1907)

➮ This session was took place in Surat on the bank of river Tapti under the presidentship of Ras Bihari Ghosh.
➮ The INC split into two groups – the extremists and the moderates.
➮ Extremists were led by Lal, Bal and Pal while the moderates by G.K. Gokhale.
➮ Controversy rose over the elected president, Ras Bihari Ghosh as extremists did not accept this.
Extremists wanted Lala Lajpat Rai to be chosen. make Ras Bihari Ghosh as president of INC Surat session. Due to this congress split into two parts.

We help you throughout your preparation journey by daily live classes catering to all government exams like - OPSC, OSSC, OSSSC, OTET, CT, BED, Railway, SSC, Banking, and many more. Our Main Objective is Provide Quality Education For Student.

Previous Story

Indian National Congress(INC) details Free pdf

Next Story

Foundation of Muslim League (1906)- Free pdf

Go toTop